Getting permission in NYC

Discuss your hides here

Moderator: gerkmax

Getting permission in NYC

Postby mtgilbert » Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:04 pm

I'm new to geocaching (1 find so far!) and am surprised that there aren't more discussions about getting permission to place caches. I'm in NYC during the school year, but spend time in the Adirondacks during the summer. Up here, a permit is required by New York State for hides on state land. They are free, and good for two years. What is involved for getting permission in the Big Apple? Thanks.
mtgilbert

Re: Getting permission in NYC

Postby everettlane » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:39 pm

Welcome!

As for permissions, do we have a FAQ on this yet? If not we probably should...

In general (and the more experienced cachers probably can tell you more) you still need permissions for any State or Federal land / parks. (As in, no.) The city-run parks are generally fine. As for the non-park areas, obviously you need to hide them in a public space, and ask yourself: would someone call the Department of Homeland Security if they stumbled on this? So rule out bridges, monuments, etc. I'd say start finding stuff in NYC and that will give you a sense of what is acceptable.
everettlane

Postby halijusapa » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:49 pm

The permit the OP is thinking of is a special permit that applies to NY State parks. In many parks below that level (or public places in general), no permit, permission, etc. is needed, keeping everettlane's common sense guidelines. The only other city or county level I know of that requires a permit in regards to caches in their parks is Rockland County, and they only passed that in the last couple of years. Hope that helps. I also advise (similar to everettlane's suggestion) that you find some more caches before you hide one as it will give you a good idea of a "good hide" that won't cause trouble. Enjoy!
halijusapa

Postby mtgilbert » Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:41 pm